[the_ad id="4949"]

Semako Bamigbe

Two Alumni of Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko, Ondo State, Mr. Semako Bamigbe, and Ms. Janet Oluwatosin Taiwo, were among the 168 ex corps members recently honoured by the Federal Government of Nigeria for their outstanding performances while serving the nation under the National Youth Service Scheme, NYSC.

Bamigbe, who studied Physics Education at AAUA and graduated in 2014, completed his one-year- compulsory service in 2015 in Niger State, where he served as a Mathematics and Physics teacher.

Taiwo, who studied Environmental Biology and Fisheries, also graduated in 2014 and served in Nasarawa State, where she served as a Biology and Integrated Science.

Janet Taiwo

Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, presented award plaques to the honourees in Abuja on April 6, 2019, and announced for them, automatic employment in the Federal Civil Service and scholarship at Masters and Ph.D. levels.

According to the NYSC, President’s Honour Award brochure, Bamigbe involved in some community development projects, including construction of two-room toilet for the Community Secondary School, Vunchi; donations of writing materials, rubber sandals, school uniform; renovation of motorcycle park, and organizing computer training for students.

Taiwo made meaningful impacts on host community, Apawu Kuri, including counseling, coaching of staff and student in volley balling, and galvanizing the energies and resources of her hosts to construct a four-room Health Centre for the use of the community.

Speaking with the Information Unit of AAUA, Bamigbe and Taiwo, expressed joy over the development, and thanked the government for recognizing their little efforts.

Taiwo added, “I knew how important health is to human, particularly, the children that have no access to adequate health services. This was what gave birth to the desire to do something for humanity.”

 242 total views,  1 views today

By Roving

Leave a Reply